Insomnia and Hormone Issues

Image

It’s about 2:51 a.m and I’m not asleep. I have to be up in 5 hours to get ready and go with my mom and maw-maw to her eye appointment. I really hate having insomnia. I can’t remember the last time I had a good night’s sleep without waking up feeling like I just partied last night. Melatonin helps me sleep but I hear it’s not good for you and others say it’s okay to take it. It also makes me feel like I have a hangover of a morning and gives me a killer headache. Seems like the only thing to help me sleep though. I hate insomnia and hormones. Tonight hasn’t been the greatest of nights for me. I hurt, I’m emotional, I’m mad, etc. UGH! Any other women have these issues with PCOS? I feel so overwhelmed with life right now. I’m trying to finish up college and I’m only one semester away from finishing! Yay! I could not be more ecstatic. Along with all these doctor appointments, my life is hectic. I miss my husband so much tonight but thankfully he will be on his way back from Texas! I always love seeing him. He always brightens my day and makes things better. On another note..I go back on the 9th for more blood work to see if I’m diabetic without being on metformin. Last appointment I went, my blood sugar was high. 108 over something, can’t remember. I wasn’t taking my metfomin regularly before my blood work so I’m not sure what it is while I’m on it. Has anyone ever seen a dramatic change in blood sugar while on Metformin? Also I would love any suggestions on what helps the sickness while on Metformin because it makes me so sick!

4 thoughts on “Insomnia and Hormone Issues

  1. Oh the joys of Metformin. I find that I have to take my pills on a full stomach to avoid any gastric issues. Fatigue seems to be my side effect of choice though. As far as any changes are concerned, Metformin is an accumulative drug so it takes a little while to kick in and show results. My insulin resistance hasn’t really been an issue in recent years but I’m more so back on Metformin for the positive influence it can have on balancing your hormones and weight pre-baby. I wish you all the best 🙂

  2. Metformin made me really sick and also keep making my sugar drop way too low. A friend of mine is a paramedic and he told me to eat a lot of protein. It helped with the upset stomach. So for the week or two I was on it I lived on peanut butter and crackers . I had to stop taking it since it keep dropping my sugar to low and I was having to miss work over it. And when my sugar would drop I would eat anything and everything I could sweet and not to bring it back up but it would help for 20 mins if that then I would be dizzy and weak again.
    Thank you Katie for putting this blog out here I am glad I am not the only one going though crazy emotions and hormones. And the same feeling with being around pregnant women or just women that have kids. It is really hard to put your own feeling aside to be around them.

    • I’m sorry metformin made you so sick. It’s really not a fun medication to be on. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels these emotions about being around women with babies or pregnant womem in general. It’s really hard and I wish more people understood why. Sometimes we just can’t control them.

Leave a comment